Sponsored by:

LQ4/4L60E into 67 Chevelle

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2009, 08:34 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default LQ4/4L60E into 67 Chevelle

Hello all,
I am a little hesitant to post here as I don't know much about LSx's. My 14 year old son and I started to pull a 2000 LQ4 and 4l60E [I believe] out of a 2000 truck today. I have been reading and reading here for the last 7 or 8 months off and on but must admit I am a V8 newbie........ How do I make a long story short? I grew up with Volkswagens and I spent '05, '06 and restoring a '64 convertible bug from the ground up.

I bought a 67 Chevelle [malibu] a few years ago with no motor and no trans

and my brother passed away last May which left me with his 2000 Chevy 2500 truck. Of course this is when I started researching putting a modern motor into the chevelle.....

Questions......
1] I know for sure I need motor mounts and a different oil pan to start [still researching to decide what parts to start with] any suggestions?

2] Thinking ahead.... My chevelle did not have power steering or AC, can I utilize these off my bro's truck? or will I have to go after market for these? I was thinking maybe I can use PS pump with after market PS box? No? What about AC? use compressor off bro's truck or have to go strictly after market for AC?

Oh yeah, one more......no matter what I search for in these forums, I get no results. What am I doing wrong?

I have already learned so much from all of you here at this site and I thank you.

Thanks

Rob
Old 01-10-2009, 08:49 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post