Sponsored by:

1963 Chevy Nova LS6 Swap

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2010, 02:36 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1963 Chevy Nova LS6 Swap

October 23, 2010

Hey everyone, I decided to do an LS6 Swap into my 1963 Nova so I figured I'd document it on here. I've found all the LS tech-ers on this website to be very helpful and by posting this thread, maybe I can help out someone else out down the road.

I imagine this whole install and thread will take me about 6 months to a year to complete. I'm a Mechanical Engineering college student that is often short on time and money, so I will update this thread as often as possible.

As the car sits, I have previously installed a TCI front clip several years ago. It's got a built 85' S-10 rear end in it (since they are pretty narrow) with 3.73's. Stock mono-leafs with Caltracs bars and subframe connectors. I just pulled out my old 350 SBC and I'm starting to collect parts for this swap.

Can't wait to get going on it! Here are a few pics:

Don't be fooled, it's probably a "20 footer"

Name:  mynova.jpg
Views: 9641
Size:  71.1 KB

Got a pretty sweet deal on a new 03' LS6 motor. It's like a good looking girl...I couldn't say no.

Name:  P1000224.jpg
Views: 10424
Size:  87.9 KB

October 28, 2010

Well, the first order of business was to install a pair of motor mount adapter plates to relocate the mounts on the engine. I’m using 3/8 in steel adapter plates that have been powdercoated, I just hope I don’t have any alignment issues with the mounts when I install the engine (shouldn’t be a problem, but I will see when the time comes).

UPDATE: February 19, 2011: I Purchased some CBR Headers and they came with 1/4" steel motor mount plates. I ended up using these motor mount relocation plates because I had some trouble aligning the engine with the 3/8" plates. My motor mount bolts slid right in with the 1/4" plates.

Name:  MotorMounts.png
Views: 8508
Size:  730.7 KB