Sponsored by:

Close to firing...just need help with a few details [diagrams included]

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2010, 04:30 PM
'Bird Director

Location: Central Indiana Honors: 4th grade spelling bee contestant
Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts

Default Close to firing...just need help with a few details [diagrams included]

First of all let me apologize in advance for this being such a long post. I have been working on my conversion since March of 2007. Let me give a brief rundown of what I'm building:

1995 Firebird
4.8L out of 2004 Chevy Truck
TH400 out of 1989 Chevy Van
Tech Rods Stand-Alone Wiring Harness
Edelbrock Intake
85mm Throttle Body
Aeromotive Inline Fuel Pump
Aeromotive Fuel Pressure Regulator
Summit Fuel Cell

Typical "race car" stuff like no HVAC, radio, back seat, etc....

All the other details really aren't pertinent to my issues.

Issue #1:
I am having a hell of a time getting the starter to engage. If you look at the attached diagram, I have it wired correct to the best of my knowledge. The 10mm post on the solenoid has a wire running to the larger yellow "starter solenoid" wire on the factory '95 Firebird ignition. The 13mm post has a large red wire that connect directly to the battery. I have the larger pink "switched 12v" ignition wire connected to a terminal strip under the steering column. I have my guages, 12v switched ignition stand-alone harness wire, and cut-out switches attached to it.

The TechRods instructions say "Lead for 12-Volt Switched Ignition Power (Pink)--This lead provides ignition power to the fuse block and should be connected to a switched ignition power (12 volts positive when the ignition is on, cranking & the engine running) circuit capable of handling an additional load of 30 amps (about a 14 guage wire). A good option is to use the original coil ignition power circuit. A power relay is another good option to supply the additional load a fuel injection system would add."