Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

How To....pinion seal replacement

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2009, 07:21 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default How To....pinion seal replacement

Mods, I am not sure if there is a how to on here, so I took the liberty to make one.

*Disclaimer. I am not an expert and this was my first time attempting this. I am sure there are easier and better ways to do this, but this method worked for me. Sorry I did not get any pictures. Of course I work with 2 former Gm technicians and they helped me through this to make sure I didn't screw it up

Tools needed:
11mm wrench
34mm socket
Hammer
Chisel/punch
Flat head screw driver
Jack stands and a jack

* It is highly recommended to use an impact gun during this repair. Otherwise it can make tightening the pinion nut pretty difficult.

First thing you have to do is raise the vehicle up into the air. I used a lift at my work so that made the job that much easier. It can be done with jack stands but will make it more time consuming.

Once supported, take your 11mm wrench and undo the 4 bolts that hold the driveshaft to the yoke. Remove the driveshaft to allow room for the impact gun.

What you need to do now is scribe into the nut, yoke and gear all in the same place to mark as a reference. I used a punch and hammer. I also counted the amount of threads the nut was on. You need to do this so when you put it back together it is at the same spot for torque reference.

Remove the nut with an impact gun using the 34mm socket. You may get some gear fluid onto you, so be prepared. You may have to tap on the backside of the yoke to get it to come out.