Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Degree camshaft? Is there a write up?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2008, 10:42 AM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Exclamation Degree camshaft? Is there a write up?

I'm about to install a adjustable double timing set. I'm a little confused on degreeing the camshaft, the instructions that came with it are kinda confusing. Is there a write up for this or does anyone have advice that would help me through this? This is my first time playing with advancing a cam, always just installed them straight up. Any advice would be appriciated.
Old 01-19-2008, 01:31 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Comp makes a socket that is very handy for this, it allows you to mount the wheel to the socket and spin the motor using the oil sprocket. Its part #4914.

If you look in the cam sticky above, there is a good write-up on degreeing the cam that may be helpful.
Old 01-19-2008, 02:06 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Just above the original post, under the sticky marked "cam guide". Stickies are a good thing to read.
Old 01-19-2008, 02:31 PM
12 Second Club

Awesome, i'll check it out. I've looked at that sticky before, but it's been a while.
Old 01-19-2008, 03:24 PM
TECH Senior Member

Its a magazine article that was put in with larger photo's. I think it provides pretty good methods. The tools are key though. I plan to pick up the heads on kit and then the extension for the dial indicator along with the Comp socket I mentioned above.
Old 01-19-2008, 10:07 PM
TECH Addict

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by vettenuts
Comp makes a socket that is very handy for this, it allows you to mount the wheel to the socket and spin the motor using the oil sprocket. Its part #4914
The Comp Cams crank socket/degree wheel mount works great, I picked this up and used it on my head/cam install and it was a real help. Highly recommended!
Old 01-19-2008, 10:28 PM